Menu

Winter Sport Start Dates and General Information 2021

By Michael MacKenzie | Posted: Wednesday May 5, 2021

Below are the start dates for term 2 and 3 winter sport and some general information

Year 7 and 8 Sport -

Basketball: starts Monday 10 May, played at the Edgar Centre each week. Teams will be posted by Friday 7 May. Trainings in the Kavanagh gym on Tuesdays and Thursdays, 7.30-8.30am taken by Mike Simpson and coaches. Students are asked to make at least one of these trainings please.

Hockey: starts Friday 14 May at the Hockey Turf. Trainings will be at lunchtimes on Thursday at the courts. Coach, Hannah Larson, will be in touch with students. Parents will be contacted by Morgan Walker via Edge.

Netball: starts on Thursday 3 June at Edgar Centre. Trials are being held at present and teams will be named and posted in due course.

Year 9-13 Sport  -

Hockey: Starts Monday 10 May and Tuesday 11 May.

Monday nights: Girls div 2, 3 and Boys div 3, 4

Tuesday nights: Girls div 1, Boys div 1, 2

Practices will be Sunday night 7pm-8pm at the turf . Please contact Brent Ford TIC Hockey on bford@kavanagh.school.nz

Basketball: 

Starting times:

Friday 14 May for Senior Boys /Girls and Junior A Girls

Friday 21 May or 28 May for Year 9/10 Boys 

All played at Edgar Centre or Kavanagh Gym. 

Practices for Year 9 and 10 players - Tuesday and Friday morning 7.30am. Other practice times for Senior A Boys and Girls will be advised through your coach. Contact Michael MacKenzie if any questions mackenziem@kavanagh.school.nz

Netball: Senior A has already started, all other teams start Saturday 15 May at the Edgar Centre. Contact Morgan Walker at mwalker@kavanagh.school.nz

Curling: starts Wednesday 19 May - 25 August.  Contact Michael MacKenzie with any questions.

Badminton: starts for boys on Wednesday 12 May at Badminton Hall, girls start on Tuesday 18 May at Badminton Hall and OGHS. Contact Chris Pickles TIC girls badminton cpickles@kavanagh.school.nz or Peter Drury pdrury@kavanagh.school.nz

Football Girls: starts Thursday 20 May. Iris Bugarski is the contact ibugarski@kavanagh.school.nz

Football Boys: starts Wednesday 19 May for junior team and 26 May for First XI Senior Boys team. Ian Adamson and Michael MacKenzie are the contacts iadamson@kavanagh.school.nz. Information will be sent out soon regarding teams.

Rugby: starts for Girls on Wednesday 19 May. Morgan Walker is the contact. Boys rugby starts on Saturday 15 May and we are linked in with Taieri College and KVC. Contact Michael MacKenzie regarding boys rugby.

Michael MacKenzie (HOD SPORT)

mackenziem@kavanagh.school.nz